top of page

Connecting two different worlds

Whilst in Uganda, I decided to ask the children about their hopes and dreams for the future. I discovered that many of the children had similar dreams to what children in the 'Western World' may have had. Below are some examples:

It made me think, if these children have had such different lifestyles to myself in the 'Western World', their culture was completely different and neither the children had been to the Western World before or I had not been to Uganda before, then why did we have such similarities when it came to our hopes and dreams.

Personally, I have had many people ask me, " what is the point of helping people in Africa? These people are completely different to us, and the society is so corrupt so why bother?" Well despite some of these issues, the people who are struggling in everyday life are just the same as me and you. We tend to look at differences as a bad thing, however these differences are the key to learning other perspectives and cultural values, yet as these pictures show, we can all work towards our hopes and dreams together.

bottom of page