top of page

Day 3 of the Road2Uganda challenge

Day 3: Mind over Matter

All of the optimism from the end of day 2 was hit with a massive shock when day 3 arrived. I woke up feeling quite ill, and after the initial first 100 metres of running, I realised that my right knee was giving me a sharp pain, stopping me from extending my leg.

We started off at the top of Hartside Hill, back to just Nick and I, and we ran through the most stunning countryside as we entered county Durham. There was a thin layer of ice on the higher elevated roads, and even though I thought the 3.7 miles of steep incline would mean a gentle slope at the other side I was mistaken. The downhill slope was at times at a 25% gradient and it was pounding my knee into a near intolerable pain. Our navigation system also took us on a strange route; and we ended up clambering through farmers fields, up and around gates and through a cows field that was so full of divots created by cows that we could not possibly run through it.

The last 4 miles were the most difficult of the entire 4 day challenge. I had previously been struggling with aches and pains, but nothing compared to when my sugar levels begun to get low. I believe I ‘hit the wall’ and was running on total empty. It's amazing how quickly it set in and there were times when I started to stumble across the country lane. I had lost my efficiency, but not once did I ever intend on giving up. With a couple of well needed sugar pills, a drink of water and some great encouragement from Nick, I somehow got the end point for the day. I didn't want to think about the next day - my mind was in bits, so I couldn't even if I tried. The end was in sight, how much more difficult could the struggle get?...


bottom of page