top of page

Day 2 of the Road2Uganda challenge

Day 2: Getting into the Groove

Did we peak too soon? I think not!

Day 2 begun 4 miles away from Keswick, where we ended the day before, and Myself and Nick were Joined by a personal friend and fellow amateur cricket player Richard. Like Nick, Richard has done Iron man triathlon’s and is currently preparing himself for a Summer triathlon. Having said this, the climbs we experienced were steep, and very unforgiving. We had to run a alongside a very busy road, which unlike day 1, meant that we had to be more vigilant and cautious whilst trying to maintain a constant pace. Bear in mind not all cars look out for people running on roads, therefore if doing exercise outside, ALWAYS BE AWARE!

I actually felt like I had found my ‘running rhythm’ and in all honesty it felt like the day was easier than day 1. Something had clicked in me, and I had shaken off the worries from the first day. The addition of Richard added to our dynamic and we fuelled and fed off each others energies. Our trio was unstoppable. It helped that our route was varied, and we walked the last 4 miles as we were contending with a 583 metre incline up Hartside pass in the north pennines.

We ended up completing 28.39 miles, with very little problems too. I begun to feel optimistic that this 4 day challenge was not going to be as difficult as i first thought. How wrong was I...

bottom of page